Posted by: Mark Wollemann: On the move | September 30, 2011

My two-month anniversary!

It slipped past me last week, what with Melody and I celebrating our 25th anniversary. But that special day coincided exactly with the two-month anniversary of my last day at the Star Tribune.

To co-opt the movie “Office Space:”

Boss: It looks like you’ve been missing a lot of work lately, Mark.
Me: I wouldn’t say I’ve been missing it, boss.

Today was a typical day. I woke up, somewhat lazily. Read several newspapers on my Ipad. Scanned my RSS reader for anything interesting. Answered a couple of emails. Had breakfast. A coffee. Got my bike clothes on. Cleaned and lubed my chain from the last messy mountain trail ride. Hopped on, took a little 90-minute spin up and down and up and down some mountain roads. Worked up a good sweat. And then I figured I should do something.

That something? This blog.

I’ve graded all the papers my students turned in on Tuesday. I’ve got nothing planned for the weekend except for more of the same. And the only thing I keep asking myself each day: Why don’t more people do this? I mean, I’m not on vacation. Melody is working hard on her three classes; I’m learning the ropes while teaching my Writing and Reporting class. But there is so much breathing space.

Mental health? C’mon, my only care in the world each day is learning enough Bulgarian to order another beer or to get my local bike mechanic to fix a tire or something else minor on my bike. I mean, I’ve had two flats so far and he fixes them for 4 leva. That’s like $2.50. I’m not going to fix my own flats. Are you kidding me? I’ve got more, um, work to do.

I’ve got to figure out what to do with the rest of my day, though. Hmmm. Lunch. Nap. Beer. Dinner. Yup, the rest of the day is all planned out.

Responses

  1. Life is beautiful, right? And what you make it…

  2. you make it all very tempting! if you hear of two more j-school positions open up, let doug and me know….

  3. I too will have a beer with you you, in spirit of course. And to the Brewers, the Packers and the Badgers! Hell of a weekend for Wisconsin sports!

  4. So far, doin’ just what you find interesting! The new venture is fresh
    and your casual enthusiasm shows it. Glad hear you’re on the health
    side.
    Despite your making it sound easy, I know those up hill strains in
    bike riding demand some teeth gritting. Better than a gym, though
    for getting trim. Sorry about the flat tires –going up or coming down?

    -Ava Dale

    • Thanks, Ava Dale! One flat happened on the way down, the other two not until I got back home. All part of the adventure, I suppose. Hope you are well. So good to hear from you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

