Posted by: Mark Wollemann: On the move | October 5, 2011

The incredible shrinking man

This is just weird. I’ve been carrying around an extra sack of flab for most of the past 20 years. It’s made my knees hurt, my stomach reflux, and my clothes feel tight. But like an old friend, I’ve gotten used to it. I just walked and ran less, took meds for the reflux and bought bigger clothes. Problem solved.

After six or seven weeks in Bulgaria, however, my body is, well, melting away. It’s kind of freaking me out.

My good friend Chris Miller has long said it doesn’t matter how much you work out, you wanna lose weight, you gotta eat less. It sounds simple enough, but living back in Minnesota and gorging myself daily on all the, um, finer things in life made losing weight a constant struggle. Not that I struggled with it, I just decided I was going to be all that I could be — in a fat sort of way.

I jumped on a scale for the first time today and weighed in at 93 kilos. I know there are 2.2 pounds to a kilo and so I did the math (no I didn’t; I just went to the computer and asked what the hell that meant). It spit back 204 pounds. For a fatty who has been as heavy as 240/245, that’s a pretty nice surprise. I’ve dropped about 20 pounds in the past two months without even trying. In fact, I haven’t denied myself beer at all.

But they don’t serve bread with meals at restaurants. They don’t have any of the candy bars I like. And, dammit anyway, they don’t have those great doughnuts and muffins like they had at the Star Tribune cafeteria. So I’m down to my last hole in my belt, my most recent clothes purchases are hanging off of me, I’m not taking meds for reflux and my knees are feeling great.

Go figure. If I had known it’d be this easy to lose weight, I’d have moved here a long time ago. And for the record, the food is great, and the beers, well, they’re not awesome but they’re less weighty than the beers I adored back home. Small sacrifice.

Responses

  1. I’ll bet all the bike riding has helped, too!
    Marsha Smith (fellow rider)

  2. So you really haven’t been exercising like crazy. It’s just dropping.
    Wow. I’m moving there too

  3. Do the math! How many kilos per kilometer? I’m doomed. I do
    calories per mile. And I can tell you: IT IS NOT WORKING. Must
    change to thinking kilos. mom

  4. i love the idea of losing weight and still drinking beer. that has never happened for rme. actually, the “losing weight” part has almost never happened for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

