Posted by: Mark Wollemann: On the move | April 29, 2016

Maps! I give you maps!

I realized that in my earlier post I provided hyperlinks to the parts of the cross-country route that I had mapped. I then realized that my good readers might actually be too damned lazy to click hyperlinks to see those maps. So … I give you maps.

Here’s the map across Oregon:

Oregon route

From Oregon, it’s on to Idaho:

Idaho route

Then, the great state of Wyoming:

Wyoming route

Then, dear friends, I travel across northern Nebraska (from Sioux City, I’ll make my way south toward Omaha, but haven’t mapped that just yet):

Nebraska route

And then the RAGBRAI (the [Des Moines] Register’s Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa). The Ragbrai map is still a little funky (if I make it bigger, I lose part of the route), so you still might want to go here if you want to see where we’re riding in Iowa:

RAGBRAI -- Iowa Route

I’ve got actual physical maps for much of the rest, so I might not build them out on my biking app. But if I do, I’ll post them later. Melody and I will also be producing daily updates (video, blog, stories of people we meet along the way, etc.) during the ride and we’ll include maps of where we are and where we’re going during the ride. It’s quite possible we’ll be doing that on a separate website, which I’ll share with you later.

Back to work.

 

Responses

  1. OK, I admit it: I was too damned lazy to click on the hyperlinks in your previous post. But if it’s of any consolation, I’m generally too damned lazy to look at maps — period — which is perhaps why I once drove clear across Ohio by mistake. Fortunately you won’t have the same problem because MAPS! Can’t wait to see what stories and adventures materialize along those red route lines.


Leave a Reply

Categories

